Menu

Going Gluten Free

AND another question....can diet truly affect behavior? How does one go gluten free? How is Celiac Disease tested for? What do you feed your child? Does the whole family follow the diet? How do you know if your child might have this problem?

Thanks again.

Diet can affect behavior. "Is This Your Child?" by Doris Rapp is a good introduction to the subject. Your library may have it.

I'm not an expert on celiac disease, but my understanding is that a typical diagnosis is made in two steps. The first one is a blood test, and the second is a biopsy. A definitive diagnosis is possible only with a biopsy.

It's possible to have an intolerance to wheat without having celiac disease. Food intolerances are poorly understood by the medical profession. Allergies show up on scratch skin tests, but food intolerances usually don't. Food intolerances can cause behavioral problems. Most people use elimination diets to see if food intolerances are causing problems.

AND another question....can diet truly affect behavior? How does one go gluten free? How is Celiac Disease tested for? What do you feed your child? Does the whole family follow the diet? How do you know if your child might have this problem?

Thanks again.

Yes, diet can truly affect behavior. There are foods/additives that tend to be more commonly a problem (like gluten or dairy or artificial anything), but it could be something else too (apples for one of my dc, oats for the other).