Menu

Science- special circumstances

<long story> I am being a homeschool coach to my friend's dd. She's a single working mom, her dd will be homeschooling semi-independently with the help of an au pair, and I am helping as an accountability partner. I will not be doing any one-on-one teaching.

The curriculum is chosen, the only thing not planned is science. She is going into 7th grade. She greatly dislikes science. Our goal is just something to get 'er done, nothing highly involved. I have only ever taught elaborate, self-designed science because it's my favorite. Unfortunately, I have not the time nor energy to do the same for her. My problem is that I am completely unfamiliar with that type of science. 

I would love input on science curriculum that isn't dry, can be self-taught, and is on the lighter side. Thanks!

34 minutes ago, Farrar said:

Christian or secular? Plato is Christian, I'm pretty sure, if it makes a difference.

I'd say it's middle school. Pick a list of interesting books and videos, make a checklist, done.

I think mom might prefer Christian but I'm not sure because kid just came from ps and will be going back, so it probably doesn't matter. My problem is that I don't have time to create a booklist/video checklist. I wish I did, but that's not my role this time. (I just wrapped up 4 years of teaching science with all the bells and whistles, but it doesn't translate well to this circumstance.)

• Like 1

3 hours ago, kand said:

Sonlight/Bookshark science seems very independent. I’ve only used the 5th grade human anatomy/physiology year. Any chance she likes horses? If so, Winter Promise Equine Science could give her a positive science association. And it’s very independent. 

ooh, I kind of forgot about SL and WP. I think those might be great. She's a reader.

10 hours ago, sassenach said:

I can't get past the sample. Does it get more interesting? Do you like it for your kids?