Menu

If you read "The Smartest Kids in the World"

EliseMcKenna

No. It seemed more useful for thinking about improving public education not as a manual for individual homeschoolers, unless I'm remembering incorrectly.

You're right. I was just discussing this with my husband this morning. I told him I wasn't sure how to (or if to) apply her findings to a home where I am teacher AND parent.

It was interesting, but I was a little shocked at the sweeping conclusions she made about a very complex issue based on some pretty limited data and no prior experience in that field. I kept thinking, how does she explain my kids? They are doing quite well despite the fact that I have no teacher training or experience, and frankly, I would make a terrible classroom teacher.

So, nope. :)

I did bristle a bit thinking about my lack of teaching qualifications and how she might say that disqualifies me from teaching. However, I will say that reading about the importance of teacher training and expertise has made me look at my own role more critically. I do think I have the tendency to want to find "independent" programs for my kids, whereas it sounds like my input is more important than I realized before.

• Like 1

You're right. I was just discussing this with my husband this morning. I told him I wasn't sure how to (or if to) apply her findings to a home where I am teacher AND parent.

I did bristle a bit thinking about my lack of teaching qualifications and how she might say that disqualifies me from teaching. However, I will say that reading about the importance of teacher training and expertise has made me look at my own role more critically. I do think I have the tendency to want to find "independent" programs for my kids, whereas it sounds like my input is more important than I realized before.

There were certain things that I liked, particularly the socratic discussion and group problem solving in math but that's not easily replicated at home.

• Like 1