Menu

Benefits of Latin?

DS has mentioned an interest in taking Latin, but he already has a very full schedule. He speaks (and studies) two Romance languages and dabbles in a third. Are there benefits to learning Latin that he wouldn't get from his current language study? I'm thinking there s currently not time enough to do all the things he wants to do, but if someone wants to really sell me on Latin, by all means...

As background: I studied French and Latin at school and learned Mandarin later.  My boys learned Mandarin by immersion, then studied Latin, then French.

Latin is hard: Calvin is a bright guy, but I had him translating English to Latin orally, and he would screw up his face with the effort of keeping everything in his head.  It's much more complex than French.  So the challenge was worthwhile for him: he needed to work through something that tough.  Not everyone needs that.

• Like 5

Good question.  My understanding is that studying Latin along with a Romance language will make learning subsequent Romance languages a whole lot easier.  (For the most part the base word stays the same, it's just the ending that changes with the language.  Latin teaches the basic structure.)  So if you learn, for instance French along with Latin, you can pick up Spanish of Italian well enough to read in a very short time.  I'm not sure if it would help nearly as much if you already speak two Romance languages, though.   Perhaps for more formal or academic grammar?

My oldest is studying Latin and Greek.   My younger kids have wanted to follow along, but I've found that just learning the Greek alphabet is a challenge.  

• Like 1

I have to disagree with Laura on one point. I found Latin much easier to learn than French. I've had similar exposure to both languages, but I'm much more capable in Latin than I ever was in French, although I'm certain I'd relearn French skills much faster having studied Latin than I would have from simply having studied French before.