Menu

A Financial WWYD

AlmiraGulch

I'm in the process of refinancing my home. There will be no closing costs or additional fees because of the type of loan. They monthly payment is going to go down by somewhere between $250 - $300 per month. My current loan is a 30-year that I've been paying on for nearly 7 years, and the new loan would also be 30 years. The program under which I'm refinancing does not allow me to change to a 15 or 20-year rate.

DH thinks we should just pay what we've been paying on our mortgage and it would be paid off in 2032, or about 4 years sooner than even my current mortgage.

I think we put the extra money toward our higher interest debt. So, first, our credit cards, then our car payments, and then my student loans, and finally the mortgage. All of these things have interest rates higher than what my new mortgage interest rate will be. I am way upside down on my mortgage (bought at the peak...a familiar story) but I can't see any upside to paying extra toward a mortgage while we still have higher interest debt than that.

What say the Hive?

P.S. Since I think that most of you are going to agree with me, can anyone offer any words I can use to convince him this is the right way to go? I think he gets the math of it, but for him it's a psychological thing, I think. I don't know. I just can't seem to get my point across.

P.P.S. Since you know what they say about people who assume, if you don't agree with my approach please tell me what I'm not thinking of. I'm certainly no expert.

I'm a Dave Ramsey fan and so I pay off debt and fund emergency funds before paying down my mortgage. Sounds like re-fi gives you some breathing room and allows yall to get more aggressive about debt. Until you're debt free with fully funded emergency fund, you're just on the brink of disaster. Paying the mortgage faster offers no security, especially not on an upside down house in my opinion.