Menu

Attn: Math teachers/experts ... how do you know?

Hi all! I could really use some insight on math knowledge/comprehension. I am an English teacher and can assess a student's knowledge in language pretty easily; almost intuitively, right? But in math ... I just don't have that skill. I feel comfortable teaching math and understand what I am doing, so it's not intimidation. I just don't have the experience in teaching math enough to know when he truly has a concept down.

He is 9, and we are working on 7th grade math. I am using the sequencing from a public school book - no formal curriculum.

Here is my issue. We are moving into this abstract math and he absolutely gets it. He absorbs concepts like they are water. He understands, he can teach them back to me, he can create and solve his own problems. This is easy for him, and we move along at a quick pace. He may forget vocabulary, or after a few weeks, forget what he is supposed to do - but a quick review snaps him back before I can finish a sentence usually.

However. We are having some difficulty in basic math operations. Addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. They are like torture to him. He does his math the loooooonnnngggg way because he wont just suck it up and memorize his facts! He understands these operations ... he just hates doing them. But it is getting to the point where his math stinks because of his attitude.

We are getting into math where the facts need to just be known because the focus of the problem is on other things. Like reducing fractions or multiplying negative integers. How can he do those problems and understand them ... yet struggle with 9+7? Is it sheer laziness? Is he being difficult?

He says sometimes he will look at a problem like 2+3 and see the answer, but forget the word. Huh? He does this often.