Menu

If you had to choose one Singapore Math teacher training book...

Element

My dd is finishing Singapore Primary Math U.S. Ed. 1A and moving into 1B. I am using the HIG, textbook, and workbook. My ds just finished MiF (The Singapore Approach) 3A and I've decided to move him into actual Primary Math (probably the SE) to save money. He tested into 3A so we will start there. This is my first year with Singapore and the HIG has been helpful, but I always see posts on here about supplemental Singapore books such as Knowing and Teaching Elementary Mathematics and all of the math teacher resource books on the Singaporemath.com website.

Money is tight right now and we don't have access to any of these books in our library or through ILL, so if I were to purchase just one of the books, which would you recommend?

Additional information: My ds is extremely reluctant to use the bar model method, and when he tries he gets it wrong 90% of the time, so for a while I thought I needed a book on bar modeling. However, both of my kids are strong conceptually but seriously struggle with math facts, so now I'm wondering if I should get The Singapore Model Method for Learning Mathematics (because that seems like it would be an overview of the whole Singapore method, I assume?)

Thank you in advance! I would just really like to be a stronger math teacher when we begin their new levels next month.

Liping Ma, hands down. The great thing about this book is it walks you through four different errors a student makes and how two groups of teachers, American and Chinese, find the error and correct the thought process. Very enlightening and helpful in how to teach mathematics.