Menu

I'm realizing that I'm really not qualified to teach writing. Help!

Greta

I feel that what is really lacking in the writing instruction that I have given my daughter so far is that I am not very good at giving her feedback and constructive criticism. I mean, with math, it's so easy. The answer is either right or wrong, and if it's wrong, oh, look, here's where you messed up. Voila. Done. But with writing? :confused: It's hard for me to know what "good" writing is for her age level, where I should correct, and where it's just her personal style and not a matter of correction being needed.

I feel that we really need to focus on writing this year (6th grade) since dd will probably be attending a brick and mortar school for 7th, and as I've been told, they tend to require a lot of writing from kids these days. So, what would you do in my shoes?

Is there an online or correspondence type school where we could enroll in a writing program where someone else would grade her assignments and give her useful feedback?

Or is there a writing program that gives the teacher clear guidelines about what to expect from the student and how to improve what they've written?

(As soon as we know which school dd will attend in 7th, I do intend to talk to someone there and ask for guidance about getting her ready. But in the meantime, well I guess I can't help obsessing!)

I feel exactly the same way. Teaching writing is more about the teacher's judgement and experience than in other subjects. My kids have been using http://www.home2teach.com for writing for the past two years. They are going into 6th and 5th grades. Some of the online teachers have been better than others. I feel that the poorer teachers are on par with what I could do. But the good teachers have been much better than what I could do.