Menu

Anyone done a cruise with small children?

My mil is taking the entire family (30 of us in all) on a cruise to Canada this summer. Most of the grandchildren are college age, but we have littles...2, 4, 6 and 8. I'm a nervous wreck about it all. I will be in a room with three of the children and my husband will be with our 2 year old. We can't all stay in one room (which makes me sad) I need encouragement and advice because I've been dreading this trip for almost 18 months now! I have been on one cruise when I was 19, so I have no idea what to expect this time. It's on a carnival cruise. Thanks in advance :)

Steph

No cruise advice, but when we went to a family reunion in the mountains in 2008 our kids were 9, 8, 6 and 2. Dh and I knew it would be really hard work and not much fun for the two of us. We took our teenage babysitter with us on the trip. We paid for her as if she was a family member, but didn't pay her directly (although at the end of the week we gave her a nice cash "tip") We didn't really expect babysitting from her, just an extra set of hands. It was great! Maybe you could do something like that.

Jennifer

We went on a Disney cruise when my youngest was 2. Honestly, we had had a blast! Ds loved it. Two years later she still talks about it. It sounds like you will likely have many extra hands. That should help. I know 2yos are difficult, but pools wear them out. Naps are easily had. Really, just go and enjoy yourself. Everyone will have a blast.