Menu

Getting to know a new pastor -- what do you suggest?

Many of you probably know that I'm a Methodist pastor... my dh is a SAHD. We're right in the middle of a transition to a new church. We'll move into the new house June 15, but my first Sunday won't be until the 2nd Sunday of June.

In our denomination pastors are appointed by the bishop--meaning that the church doesn't know me, doesn't know much about me, and I've only met a few people a couple of times. I come in pretty much cold on that first Sunday--will never have seen their worship service. I've been meeting with the previous pastor, and with my new associate pastor. This will be the fourth church I have served, so I've done these transitions before...

I'll be meeting with all the small groups in the church, there will be some small social gatherings, and I'm planning to have sign ups for lunch/breakfast/coffee one on one with individual members.

You all have so much wisdom! From your perspective, what would be helpful for a new pastor to do/know?

From experience, I'd say let the church know how much time you have for personal visiting, etc. What I mean is this--we had a Pastor who was married with 4 children. The kids were all involved in sports and activities, and our Pastor was frequently occupied with supporting his children and living family life. No one was offended or neglected, mind you!! When he was called to another church, he was replaced by a wonderful single female Pastor. Because we'd all been used to our previous Pastor's busy family life, we neglected to consider the differences, and she ended up experiencing a high level of stress, loneliness and isolation. We all assumed she was as busy as the previous Pastor, and didn't want to "bother" her.

So, your new church may like to know what your needs are in terms of personal visiting etc. It's always ticklish wondering if your Pastor really enjoys visits etc, or is performing a "church duty.":D