Menu

Shakespeare before High School?

I am reading a few different threads on this board and it seems like there is a movement to have kids reading Shakespeare before high school. Now, I was a good student and Shakespeare was challenging. There were lots of kids in h.s. that never understood a thing the man wrote!

So, I have to know...are you all talking about real Shakespeare, or children's versions of his plays?

I was skimming through a Shakespeare for children Usborne book, and even that looked to advanced for my 6th grader. Am I missing something??

thanks for helping me know where to set the bar...

I am reading a few different threads on this board and it seems like there is a movement to have kids reading Shakespeare before high school. Now, I was a good student and Shakespeare was challenging. There were lots of kids in h.s. that never understood a thing the man wrote!

So, I have to know...are you all talking about real Shakespeare, or children's versions of his plays?

I was skimming through a Shakespeare for children Usborne book, and even that looked to advanced for my 6th grader. Am I missing something??

I can only speak for my co-op students. I've supervised my writing classes as they read Julius Caesar. I've done it twice. Both times my students were junior high age. We assign parts and simply read it. It takes about 5-6 class periods. About half-way through students start to "get it." They start making comments about which characters they like and dislike. They start getting the sarcasm and irony. Their comments and laughter at the right times show that they understand.

Now, I know they don't get all of it. And frankly, I don't believe that it is important, at this age, to slow down and analyze it. I want them to see that they can understand Shakespeare without understanding every word.