Menu

St. Patrick's Day and preschool

Terabith

It's my first year back teaching preschool in a few years, and St. Patrick's Day is coming up.  I'm teaching older 2's and 3's this year.  My previous assignment was younger 2's, and while the younger 2's often got lumped in with the nursery for planning purposes and holiday things, the older 2's/ 3's get lumped in with the older kids.  And apparently St. Patrick's Day is a whole deal.  

I have one kid with autism, and a whole slew of kids who are fairly newly potty trained.  Recently, blue cleanser was in the school toilets, and it was a whole deal.  The kids were really rather freaked out about it.  So honestly, while dyeing the toilet water green is a whole thing, apparently, I'd really prefer we not do that.  Leprechauns apparently visit preschool classes (covered in paint?  honestly, the logic behind this is lacking to me) and leave footprints and cause Elf on the Shelf level shenanigans.  But again, I have a kid with autism, and if chairs are overturned or other chaos is there, there will be consequences.  So I'm trying to think of an alternative.  

I originally thought our leprechaun could bring us a book, but I'm having trouble finding a St. Patrick's Day themed book that is short and simple enough to really work for my crew.  And also, I'm feeling a little poor, because we're giving a lot of money to Afghani refugees in our town, and also have a kid in college.  So now I'm thinking maybe the leprechaun could bring a treat?  Maybe cookies or something?  (Dyed green?  Are all leprechauns Catholic?  I guess that would make sense with St. Patrick.)  Or maybe they could bring the dinosaur eggs I was thinking of hatching as a class project?  (Baking soda, water, and food coloring making a shell around little dollar store dinosaurs that are frozen and kids can thaw with vinegar and basters?). 

What says the hive?