Menu

Michael Clay Thompson - Grammar of Lit

KelseyS

This is our second year of homeschooling (girls - 13 and just turned 11).  We've had the MCT Town and Voyage levels and have enjoyed looking through them, but didn't really fully implement them last year.  This year, we're getting started with The Grammar of Literature with my older daughter.  She's a very avid reader and always scores in the 99th percentile on standardized tests in language arts.  She's a concrete, analytical thinker (future engineer, she thinks) and MCT is frustrating her, and me too!  It's a bit embarrassing to be honest, as I have a degree in linguistics!  Maybe it's been too long ago - lol!  Is there anyone for whom MCT just wasn't a good fit?  I SO want to love it, but it's a struggle right now.  I understand that it's a different approach that's designed to inspire a true love of language and grammar.  Maybe we just need to give it a bit more time and attention?  Or find a grammar curriculum that is less flowery?  Any input would be most appreciated!