Menu

Bookshark or Calvert?

TessaM

I'm new to homeschooling and I want an all-in-one curriculum for our first year.  My son is in 6th grade and did well in public school, but he has ADHD and gets bored easily.  I work from home and can help him 2-3 hours a day, but he'll need to do work on his own too.  Our school district will reimburse up to $2,000 for non-religious homeschool curriculum.  I'm having a hard time deciding between Bookshark or Calvert.  Has anyone used both?  Thank you for any advice. 

• Like 1

Calvert is definitely more school-at-home. I personally find Bookshark more appealing.

However, neither is (to the best of my knowledge) set up in such a way that it would entirely independent for your child. I think you should plan on actively teaching him yourself for the 3 hours you can, and letting him work through the assignments during the hours you can't be teaching him. However, as mom to an ADHD child myself, I can tell you that he may still need help after those three hours of active teaching. I wouldn't assume he'll transition straight from public school and be able to work on his own. Most homeschoolers work for many, many years during elementary school to work up to some independence in middle school. 

• Like 4

Thank you Aimee!  I'm leaning towards Bookshark.  I'm surprised you're the only one that responded.  Maybe Calvert and Bookshark aren't very popular.   

I'm going to guess that a lot of people had the same internal reaction I had: how to be gentle about telling you that a reading-heavy program isn't the best for your situation, since you have picked two out.

My own picks for middle school included a smorgasbord:

Intellego Science, Ellen McHenry's The Elements, and a parent-intensive Mr. Q.

Moving Beyond The Page literature units since they were a mixture of hands on projects, worksheets, and summary questions to change it up every day.

A variety of sources for history