Menu

Dance moms with girls with short hair

athomeontheprairie

What do you do? Every recital they want hair in a bun. But my dd9 has short hair. She's growing it out (doubtful she'll succeed. This is the third time she's tried 😉), but in the meantime what should she do?

Its almost long enough to get hold on a high pony. With dance in May, it'll be long enough to be clearly noticeable but not long enough to put back. One option is to cut it short (she really likes it short.)

Gah! Idk why this is so hard. It's the only time she feels like she stands out (and she does...) I'm not good with hair, and Idk how to help.

Ideas?

Wet hair, gel back, pin loose ends, hairspray. There's this stuff at Target that is super hold. Holds anything. It's like glue. You can buy a bun to pin in if they really need a bun. I can find them cheap in stores that cater to African American women. Amazon carries them but I find they are more expensive and it's hard to match the hair color.

Edited by dancingmama
  • Like 3

Mom of Dancers, licensed cosmetologist, one girl with short hair,,,

First, ask her teacher or the studio director what they recommend. For younger girls many studios are often more forgiving of short hair than they would be of a 15yo at a preprofessional classical ballet recital, KWIM? Your studio should be able to take a look Andy help you decide what's reasonable for her and what will help her have the best uniform look with her group.

Is there a hair ornament that needs to be placed? Maybe it can be attached to a headband to help hold her hair in place along with the ornament.

Often, wet hair gelled back and held in place by a U-shaped headband that matches her hair may be enough. Or again wet hair, gel, and get as much as you can into a ponytail. Use new elastic, preferably name-brand ones with a rubbery 'sport' grip for better hold.