Menu

Anyone here have experience with tatting?

My daughter (nearly 11) is really competent at crochet and macrame (both self-taught via books) and absolutely loves it.

I'm thinking of getting her some tatting supplies for her upcoming birthday.

Are there any particular tools or threads or supplies that I need to know about?

I've seen tatting needles and tatting shuttles, but I really have no idea what any of that means.

• Like 1

Tatting is fun and there are great online resources. Not to mention gorgeous custom shuttles on Etsy. I'd have her learn with a shuttle first and then try needle tatting and she can see what she likes best.

A lot of the tatters these days use it to make jewelry instead of edgings for household goods. Lots of fun to be had!

And I'd get her a good little starter kit like this:

https://www.snowgooselace.com/product/beginner-tatting-kit-shuttle/

Beyond the fine, smooth thread (same as one would use for bobbin lace or fine crochet) she just needs scissors, a crochet hook, embroidery needle, ect. Basically the same notions she would use for any other small fiber arts project.

Clover shuttles are my favorite mass produced one to start out with.

Tatting is fun and there are great online resources. Not to mention gorgeous custom shuttles on Etsy. I'd have her learn with a shuttle first and then try needle tatting and she can see what she likes best.

A lot of the tatters these days use it to make jewelry instead of edgings for household goods. Lots of fun to be had!

Thank you!

I'll get my hands on a shuttle then. Any thoughts on first threads to use as a beginner?

Yes, her macrame projects have been primarily jewelry so far and they turn out really well. I wouldn't be surprised if she ends up with her own Etsy shop one day.

• Like 1