Menu

what's the best independent spelling program

pjssully

My ds10 is a struggling speller and we are starting to use Spelling Power. It seems to be working well for him.

For writing, if you're interested, I would just start with daily journaling. It's a relaxed way to really see what she can do and what she needs work on. Here's some sites to help you with that:

Journaling for Kids

Writing Prompts

Creative writing for Kids

These are just a few, there are so many if you google it!

Hope this helps!

I've used Spelling Power and Megawords and they both require a great deal of parental involvement.

Since your child isn't writing a lot, maybe you could use a computer program like this: http://www.smartkidssoftware.com/nddav8.htm My kids have used this for fun, but it could definitely be used as a spelling program.

Other programs that come to mind, but with which I have no experience, are IEW's spelling (I think it's called Phonetic Zoo and it is not computer based) and Calvert's computer based spelling program. Maybe someone would be willing to chime in on either of those.

Best wishes.

My dd6 and dd8 both do Spelling Workout entirely independently, except for when I give them a spelling test. I love the program - the proofreading skills and story writing with the words are both very useful skills. My dd's are doing B and E and are very happy with it.

Cheers,

Jenny

We are doing megawords, and I believe that it is not teacher intensive at all.....I mean there area a few pages where you dictate....but, all other pages are very independent. I love it!
I agree. I don't find it in the least teacher intensive.

My 4th grader is using Phonetic Zoo, and it's going well. She works independently,she even corrects her own tests. I haven't heard any complaints,and she is trucking along in the program. I also like the animal images, and the overall look and feel of the program. It's kind of natural,straight forward, and smart.

good luck!