Menu

Interview Help Needed

HRAAB

It's been 20 years since I worked and 34 since I had an interview.  Now I have a phone interview this Friday morning, and I'm trying to get all my thoughts down on paper.  I've read several articles about interviewing, but I have questions pertaining specifically to homeschooling.  I don't want them to think I've been lazing about eating bonbons and watching soaps for the last 2 decades, but I'm not sure whether I should go into homeschooling.  Still, addressing learning needs, choosing and tailoring curriculum, writing lesson plans for 5 children, teaching and organizing the school days has kept me mentally active and required considerable research and organizing.  Also, if they ask me why I'm looking for work at this point, should I just stick to the fact that my children are older and I want to re-enter the workforce and not mention anything about my dh's jobs being offshored 3 times in the last 3 years and that I'm rather desperate for employment.  :laugh:

I never had many interviews.  I stayed with the same company I was working for while in school until I quit to homeschool.  My interviewing skills are severely lacking not to mention that I suspect the way interviews are conducted have changed.  At least listening to my dh and dd, they sound very stressful.

This interview is for an admin position.

I just interviewed and got a job after 17 years out of the workforce. My area is educational, so being a homeschooler helped. Honestly, I would mention it if it comes up naturally. I think you can definitely tie your skills to it and it explains your "2 decades of unpaid work". :lol:

I would definitely NOT mention your DH's work turbulence. People want to hear something positive. Your kids are older and you are ready for a new challenge!

Good luck!

• Like 1