Menu

Help adjusting to working part-time (in a Church) and homeschooling

speedmom4

Hello Hive,

I know many of you have successfully combined working and homeschooling. I am very new to this and I'm stressed, excited, guilt-ridden, and inspired all at the same time! 

I started a job about three weeks ago that I dearly love. I am now the Middle School Faith Formation Coordinator at my parish. The job is requiring about 20 hours a week right now but will hopefully be down to 15 hours a week once I get everything organized and on track. I really love the work. I love the people I work with as well. I work at the actual Church around 11 hours a week and the rest can be done at home. The hours at the Church are in the afternoons and evenings so they don't interrupt homeschooling at all. I am enjoying the challenge of the actual work. Sometimes I feel the need to pinch myself because I can't believe I get paid to do what I love anyway!

The struggle is that I'm not used to having to divide my attention. I have been a SAHM and homeschooler for 20 years. My family has been my 100% focus. In recent years I have had free time to do things that I enjoy. Now I feel guilty when my focus is not on the family. I feel bad that my house isn't as clean as it was. To be honest I feel bad that I really like my job. I guess that sounds weird?