Menu

Favorite puppy raising books??

ajfries

We're considering getting a puppy.  It'd be a Red Heeler mutt (about 1/4 Heeler) and we'd be bringing it home in a month or so. If we go through with this :laugh: I'd like to do positive reinforcement clicker training. I'm looking for book recommendations, both just a general 'raising a puppy' books and/or specifically training your puppy. It's a bonus if I can read it on my kindle without clueing in the kids, just in case we decide it's not the right time for us.

You should skip the first few months and send him to me.  I am an expert puppy trainer.  When he reaches that leggy, in-between stage  is fully trained, I'll send him back to you.  No charge.

It's tempting, especially considering I'd possibly be housebreaking the puppy and potty training the toddler at the same time....wait....would you be willing to take the toddler instead? He's got THE most adorable dimples. :lol:

Yay for positive reinforcement training!!!! Consider yourself clicked & treated!!!   :D

Any of the books on this page: http://store.clickertraining.com/puppy-training-books.html

Yes to anything by Patricia McConnell

Also

Ian Dunbar put his entire puppy book online for free. 

Raising a Behaviorally Healthy Puppy, Suzanne Hetts & Daniel Estep

The Power of Positive Dog Training, Pat Miller

Exel-erated Learning: Explaining How Dogs Learn & How Best to Teach Them, Pam Reid

Perfect Puppy, Sophia Yin

also - lots of great resources online!

Below I'm cutting & pasting from an email I send to new pup owners:

Kikopup – hands down one of my FAVOURITE trainers!

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF26FD559887E7EA4 – this is her playlist for new puppy owners. The rest of her channel is excellent too.

This is her website: https://dogmantics.com/

Dog Star Daily / Ian Dunbar

There are some great free puppy raising tips here: http://www.dogstardaily.com/