Menu

Testing?

Hi, Newbie here.  I posted in the K-8 curriculum board, and a few people suggested I post here as well.  I'm homeschooling BECAUSE I have an accelerated learner on my hands that I know will not do well in public school.  He is 5 years old, has been reading since he was three-something he mostly taught himself to do.  He also loves math (taught himself addition and subtraction too *shrug*) and science and knows more about tsunamis than any grown adult I know.

A few people have mentioned testing.  Should I do this?  Where would I go?  What, if any, are the benefits of it?

I'd only recommend testing if you want to get him into a program that requires it. A quality IQ test is expensive and will just give you confirmation of what you already suspect (but check the list of recommended psychologists on Hoagies' gifted site if you decide to do it).

Just treat him like he's gifted - read a book or two about it, teach him at an appropriate level, expect some intensity or other related issues.

I saw people mention that, but I didn't understand why they thought you should. Generally, if you have a question that needs to be answered, you test. I have had no need to test my oldest (almost 10) or my youngest (just turned 5). They're both accelerated, but they're "easy" to teach. There are no questions that need to be answered. Getting them tested would be a waste of money. Just because a kid is gifted doesn't mean they need to be tested. If there is a gifted program you wanted to get him into, then yes, testing would be beneficial. But if you're planning to homeschool and aren't having any problems, I don't think it's necessary. Just meet him where he's at.