Menu

Need help chosing an online or correspondence high school

Hi All,

I'm looking into options for high school (looking again, because sadly dd did not get chosen in the lottery for the new online state charter school) and for a variety of reasons that I won't bore you with, we need an online or correspondence school for high school. So I'm trying to make a list of possible schools and compare.

This may be a dumb question (I have no experience with these schools), but do any of these schools organize and schedule the work for the student, such as offering a daily or weekly schedule, that sort of thing? Or is the student expected to figure all of that out herself and pace herself accordingly?

Which, if any, of these schools offer interaction with an instructor, rather than just grading tests and keeping transcripts?

Which school(s) would you consider if you were in a situation where you needed your student to be able to work mostly independently of your help? (It's not that I'm unwilling to help. Her dad and I will both be available for help and support as needed. But we also need this to be mostly on her shoulders. Circumstances dictate that she needs to work independently as much as reasonably possible.)

Other considerations: adequate preparation for college (both in terms of the actual coursework and also in terms of having a good enough reputation to get her accepted), either secular or Christian is fine but if Christian, we'd probably prefer something more towards the Catholic end of the spectrum (we're Eastern Orthodox), and finally, the more affordable the better, because we need to save some money for college!

Some schools that I'm looking into:

Oak Meadow

Keystone

K12

American School

Kolbe

Seton

Penn Foster

James Madison

Any other suggestions?

I realize most of you are homeschooling for high school and not using these kinds of programs, but I don't know who else to ask! ANY help is appreciated.

Thanks so much!