Menu

Tell me about essential oils if you use them.

I keep hearing how people use essential oils. I read a blog today where the lady poked holes in the top of a canning jar, poured in some backing soda with a few drops of lavender essential oils.

What exactly are they? Are they all natural? A more organic way of doing things? If so, I'm all for cutting out chemicals.

What are some other ways to use them? Are they okay for kiddos to be around?

I am not an expert by any means but we use 2 essential oils at our house. One is called "breathe" and it is for opening sinuses and easier breathing...think grandma's Vicks Vapor Rub. The other one is peppermint. It helps belly aches (a little drop in water or under the tounge), headaches-rub it on temples and nape of neck, and we use it at work, too, for our post partum moms that can't pee. A little drop in a voiding hat in the toilet and it helps open their urethra to pee. We call it a peppermint potty!

Here is a link to my friend's facebook page and it is her business.

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/DoTerra-Essential-Oils/281785071844242

Essential oils are natural oils from plants

For purchasing I like

http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/aroma/ess.html

http://essentialoils.org/

Essential oils bother me less than more artificial fragrances. I use them when cleaning, in soap, in my bath, I make a room spray, they work well for a large number of things

Edited by Sis

We use them for cleaning, some personal care stuff, for making room sprays, that type of thing.

Since they are derived from plants and are not synthetic, you get to skip the phthalates that are in most fragrance containing products. Anything labeled "fragrance" can technically contain all kinds of ingredients and "fragrance" is usually based on synthetic chemicals, not essential oils.