Menu

What's the best mouse trap that won't kill/maim the mouse?

I just discovered some mice poop. DH thinks they're coffee flakes but I can tell the difference. He's all for killing the mice, but I can't do that especially since DD is a mouse-lover.

Rather buying willy-nilly, what mouse trap will work? Some time ago, I tried a device that produces a sonic sound to drive away mice, but it didn't work.

"Pass" them to another neighbor :D? I think that's what happened to me. I heard my neighbor (attached homes here) saying he discovered mice and patched up the holes, so they probably dug their way to our place.

We had pet mice and I'm not good with rodents, so keeping them is not an option. If we had to have pet mice again, then I'm not sure if capturing these wild mice would be safe.

I think with glue traps the mouse will try running and then end up leaving part of their feet behind.

We've had success with the humane traps that I'm linking. Interestingly, the reviews on this Amazon page are pretty negative, but there are other humane traps at Amazon you can look at too. We would bait these traps with peanut butter and place them on either side of the refrigerator where we had seen a mouse. We eventually caught 11 mice--probably about 1 per night. They go into the trap to get the peanut butter and their weight tips the trap which shuts the door. I could hear it happen most of the time. Then dh would take the mouse on a walk in the morning and release it in some woods on the edge of our neighborhood.

http://www.amazon.com/Victor-M007-Live-Catch-Mouse/dp/B00004RAN3/ref=pd_sim_hg_11

Editing to add that dh has a far better record of catching mice than our cat ever had. The cat was mildly curious but apparently too well-fed to try to catch a mouse. Dh got to watch him in action late one night when a mouse wandered into his study and the cat basically just watched him.

Edited by Ali in OR