Menu

My first and next-to-last whine about studying.

I am studying for my 10 year boards. I have mapped out 350 hours of studying over 9 months and I'm down to 80. I am sick of it. I hate sitting like this, I hate missing out on anything else, and I hate having to memorize the side effects of chemo meds (which I would LOOK UP if I ever had a patient come to me on them -- do they think I would rely on my memory of a drug I'd never used but only crammed for a test 10 years ago?).

Tonight, while chanting through the causes of hypocalcemia, I come upon this sentence: When patients appear as if they have pseudohypoparathyroidism, but they do not, they have pseudopseudohypoparathyroidism.

Image a few hundred more pages of that. When this test is over, I have many hours of chart review and "accepted" modules to complete. My only solace is thinking this is the next to last time I have to do this. Arghhhhhhhhh. Oh, and it cost about 2000 bucks.

When patients appear as if they have pseudohypoparathyroidism, but they do not, they have pseudopseudohypoparathyroidism.

This is about where I would start using the Elmer Fudd voice, or perhaps Ruth Buzzi, and start chanting and dancing around the house.

No. No, I cannot imagine more pages of that. As if it's not bad enough that you have to treat [insert correct, non-offensive descriptor] people, now this?! Torture, I tell you!

I have no idea what you said. I had to read your post 5 times before I saw the difference between pseudoblabbityblah and pseudopseudo blabbityblah.