Menu

Rod & Staff Questions

TheAutumnOak

Does anyone here use RS English?...We are using RS English, Grammar, Spelling, Reading as applicable in grades 1 and 5...

My real question is - How do you get through it all?...It seems to move quickly to me and I am not sure we will get through it this year...Does anyone have suggestions for how much to cover?...This is my first year using it and maybe I just need to get use to it...I like it, just worry that we won't finish...

I just use it for english. That said I have noticed it revisits concepts quite a bit. Knowing that helps me not to worry to much about complete mastery of each lesson. For example, 2 weeks ago my boys were working on posessive nouns...this week they are working on them again. Dd who is a level ahead is also working on possesive nouns...so I know my boys will get it again next year.

Basically, I try not to stress about perfection...and steadily move thru.

Hope that helps!!!!

DS is using R&S for reading, spelling, science and social studies. In order for DS to finish the reading in one 9 month school year, he'd have to do an entire lesson every day. Well, in the fall that was not possible. It was taking him an hour or more to get a lesson done and it would usually end in tears. So I decided to split it up where he'd do "before you read the story" one day and the next day he'd read the story and do "after you read the story." Once he got through unit 1 and was more accustomed to the program, I had him start doing 1 lesson a day. There's no way he'll finish the book by June. So either I will just have him work on it through the summer until it's done or else have him pick it back up when we start school again in the fall.