Menu

catching up ::sigh::

shinyhappypeople

I feel kind of like a loser-mom right now.

7 yo DD is a bright girl who is behind in math because (and only because) I couldn't get it together last year. We tried Singapore, a school text (I can't remember which one) and Miquon. I am a truly sucky math teacher so not a lot got accomplished.

Fast forward to the present. We've discovered Math Mammoth for her. Thank.you.God. She's finished (mostly) with addition 1 (mostly review) and we're drilling addition facts. She's in "2nd grade" and she's working on addition and subtraction of small numbers. How did this happen?!?

In fairness, she can add and subtract already, but not with fluency, so I decided to remediate her. And she can multiply (a little). And skip count by 2s, 5s and 10s. And count coins. So, it's not like she's learned *nothing* in the last 12 months.

I'm just kicking myself because she is *so smart* and I feel like I failed her. If I'd had a *clue* last year, she'd be so much farther ahead than she is now. If she were to re-enter PS today, she'd be slightly behind.

She doesn't understand: place value (none, nada, zilch), can't write numbers past a hundred, can't add/sub. double digit numbers.

OK, that's all. Just needed to vent. Please tell me I don't suck. This year is going so much better than last year. We *will* catch up, right? Or should I even be worried about catching up? We start where we're at and work from there, right?

*deep breath*

Thisisn'tarace, thisisn'tarace, thisisn'tarace.

Thanks for reading this.

:grouphug:

My 2nd grade 7yr. old ds used Math Mammoth last year and is repeating 1st grade math this year. Although he knows addition fairly well, skip counting ands such (osmosis from he siblings), he doesn't 'get' the whole subtraction thing, so we are using McRuffy Math 1st grade this year. I think all is fine. We (meaning you and I :D) can always work through the summer.