Menu

Can we talk about My Fathers World?

susancollins

I used MFW levels K, 1st, part of ECC, RTR and Exp-1850.

MFW is a good curriculum, but after awhile I found it boring. That is totally me as I do get bored if things don't change up. MFW is consistant in its style of organizing lessons and teaching. Here is my grade level opionions:

Kindergarten - I found this program badly organized and very confusing. I never completely used the program because I couldn't figure it out. I have been homeschooling for 11 years and I couldn't figure it out.

1st - I liked this program, but it made too big of a jump for my daughter about 1/2 way through before she was ready.

ECC - I borrowed and used part of this program before I used any of the other levels to try MFW outu. I really liked it and it got me into MFW.

RTR - We used it all, even though we didn't enjoy all the books. We liked it enough to continue the next year.

Exp-1850 - HUGE disappointment here. I was excited to bring in my younger daughter with her older sisters. The younger lessons were very sporadic and not well done at all. The older lessons just didn't impress me and we ditched it 1/2 way through the year. We no longer use MFW.

We use Heart of Dakota now with 1 of my girls and Tapestry of Grace with my other ones. This is an excellent fit.

Michelle

Been using and found a great fit in MFW since 2003. My experiences are the total opposite of Michelle's. It helps to see that no such thing as one size fits all. Neither of us is wrong. We just had different experiences. That's why the exhibitor halls at conventions are very full with lots of different stuff. it's great!

I found the younger supplement in EX1850 to be just that: a supplement/switch out for specific lessons for when the oldest child was heavier in world history and my 2nd grader just needed a more age appropriate lesson that week or a read aloud. My 2nd grader did the rest of the program with older sis. Worked for us.