Menu

Absolutely Shocking - Children's Inability to Write

My DH is a HS teacher and a college professor. I am his grader for some of his assignments (I am a retired teacher so I have the credentials to grade.)

Writing scores in his HS are so poor that the principal has created a new plan. Each Monday, the students are given a prompt. On the first Monday, they are to do a graphic organizer. On the next Monday, they are to write about the prompt.

Last night, I graded the first complete writing and I was SHOCKED. These high school students cannot write, spell, punctuate, etc. Their prompt was to write a persuasive letter. Most could not format a letter much less write in a persuasive style.

What have these students been learning in elementary and middle school? It certainly doesn't appear to be types of writing.

After this encounter, it just makes it that more important for us to be able to home school our DS.

My experience with the ps is that they do *plenty* of writing, but no one teaches them *how* to write. The goal seems to be get a huge number of words on paper, but not to care about the quality of those words. There has been no explicit teaching of grammar, punctuation, spelling, etc.

It reminds me on a regular basis why I am drawn to TWTM - the focus on the nuts and bolts as well as the rest.

My experience with the ps is that they do *plenty* of writing, but no one teaches them *how* to write. The goal seems to be get a huge number of words on paper, but not to care about the quality of those words. There has been no explicit teaching of grammar, punctuation, spelling, etc.

It reminds me on a regular basis why I am drawn to TWTM - the focus on the nuts and bolts as well as the rest.