Menu

Those with degrees in education--do you feel it's helped you with homeschooling?

I've always been curious about this. I'm considering going back to school and getting a Master of Arts in Teaching, because my dh and I believe it's wise for me to think about the possibility of my going back to work. (This is due to health problems last year which are currently resolved; still, we want to be wise.)

Anyway, I've always wondered---do degrees in teaching or education actually help you in any way with homeschooling, or not? How did those degrees help you in classroom situations? Would you recommend an MAT or a Master of Science in Education? I've had the former recommended to me because it's less theoretical, and I'm definitely leaning that way, but I'd like to get a broader picture of the possibilities and what they mean.

Any advice appreciated!

I have a Masters in Elementary Education and the short answer is...no, I don't think it's helped me be a better homeschooler. If anything, I've had a hard time breaking out of the "school" mentality and into "learning" mentality. I'm not so sure my degree actually made me a good classroom teacher, either. I think I learned more by actual experience in the classroom than from the coursework.

It's been 20 years since I've taught in the public schools, and things have changed tremendously. Even though I have a lifetime teaching license in the state of IN, to actually teach again I would have to take some refresher courses. (Mostly to learn how the game is currently being played in the ps!) Given the state of public schools, I don't plan to teach again...