Menu

Q for special ed teachers

Kanin

I'm a resource room teacher, so kids come to my room for reading, or math, or writing, and then go back to their general ed classrooms.

I'm curious about what happens in other schools when kids come to the resource room for part of a block. For example, a 3rd grade classroom has 60 minutes of math per day, and a student in that class has 45 minutes of math per day in their IEP, so they go back to the classroom and there is still 15 minutes of math going on.

Do you send the kids on their way and be done with it, or are you expected to provide material for the classroom teacher for the other 15 minutes of math? Many teachers at my school seem to think that I should provide work for kids to fill any free time that the kids have. My opinion is that once the kids leave my room, they belong to the classroom teacher, so he or she needs to provide the work (or differentiate the work, or provide different work). I'm happy to collaborate on what the work could be, but I think it should be directed by the classroom teacher. (I.e. if the student is really so far outside what the class is doing as to make the work impossible to differentiate, then the kid should have their IEP modified to reflect that, and get more intervention time in the resource room.)

Another hypothetical example would be if a classroom has 5 blocks of math per week, but I only see the student for 3 blocks per week. Teachers want me to fill the other 2 blocks for the student while they're in the genreal ed classroom (so, the student is doing completely different work from the rest of the class for two whole blocks per week). I think I shouldn't provide the work for this. This is causing some tension at work so I want to make sure I've thought about all possible points of view.

What do you/would you do?