Menu

Writing a Letter of Recommendation

*Jessica*

A former student of one of my homeschool co-op classes asked me to write a letter of recommendation for him.  I’m happy to do it, but I want to make sure my letter is well written.  Does anyone have link suggestions for how to write a really great letter of recommendation I can follow?  I’ve never done this before, but this is a fantastic kid and I want to do my best.  Thanks!  

• Like 1

I don't know of any resources, but a few things:

Know your audience.  Is the letter going to be used for a wide audience (like all the colleges they're applying to) or for a very specific program or scholarship?

Be specific.  Give examples and tell a story.

Be sure to keep the focus on the student.  Sometimes recommenders end up talking about themselves instead.  Weird, I know, but something to be aware of.

• Like 6

Is it truly a "letter?"  I find that when I'm asked to write recommendations it's via an online form where I'm asked specific questions about the student.  (This is much easier of course!)  

I also check in with the student to see if there is something in particular they would like me to mention.  I want to make sure I didn't forget about something they may have been particularly proud of and are hoping I will write about.  

Otherwise I try to tell stories and anecdotes that are very specific and illustrate what I believe to be true about an applicant.  If I want to communicate that s/he is a hard worker, I will describe a time when they'd stay late to practice some skill, etc.  

• Like 3

1. Gear the recommendation specifically for what is needed.
I've had my co-op students ask me for letters of recommendations for applying for jobs, scholarships, special extracurricular programs, and college honor programs. In addition, several times I've been the teacher/recommender for students filling out the Common App for college applications. Each of those is a bit different in what needs to be the focus.