Menu

Grading software

I am looking for a grading software where I can weight or assign points values to tests, quizzes, essays, etc. enter the grades, and have the software calculate an end of trimester grade for me. I'm a secondary teacher and my school uses Skyward, but I think Schoology is similar. Is there anything like this available for homeschoolers? I know how to create transcripts with final grades, but I'm really looking for something that will do the math on different point value assignments for me. I realize many homeschoolers work much more informally, but I'd actually like to grade if I can find something that is convenient enough. Any ideas?

Homeschoolskedtrack.com has that option.  When you set up courses in it there is the option at the bottom of the screen to assign different % values to quizzes, tests, field work, exams, workbook, and so on.  As you set up each assignment you can click the drop down button to give it a category and then grade after.  It's free, too.

It takes a bit to be comfortable with it, but we've used the program successfully for about 8 years now and it's not bad.  I like that the kids can be given their own log-in to see the work scheduled for the day/week. 

I should add that since I just have one kiddo at home and am not teaching any co-op classes this year, I switched to a regular paper grade book, using it differently than I would for a class. Basically each column is a day and the rows are subjects/ categories.

It's the Creative Teaching Press layout. I use the left side "Name column" to list a subject in each block, giving me lines for each category in a subject (homework, quizzes, etc), making it easy to weight at the end of each quarter (a 2-page spread), but it also gives me room to comment in each of the weekly blocks about special projects and whatnot that I could never figure out how to record in a digital grade book.