Menu

The Farmers Market Teachers Lounge 5-23-2018

scrapbookbuzz

Welcome to Wednesday at the Lounge!

We are fortunate to have a few year-round farmers markets here. DD and I will be going to one later this morning for some fresh,
local, organic produce. yumm!

Do you have farmers markets near you? Here: some year round, some only during our fall/winter/spring. Summer is just too hot! 
Those that run through the summer move inside.

Plan for today? Here: farmers market, swim, possibly some academia (for both kids and myself). I did just get done working on notes
for an herbal monograph (basically a white paper about a single herb). I'm currently studying brittlebush.

What book are you currently reading? Here: two. True Fiction by Lee Goldberg and The Black Country by Alex Grecian.

Talk to me! :bigear:

• Like 1

Good morning, Scrap!

Do you have farmers markets near you?  Yes, several excellent ones! This is a four season climate with moderate winters and there are many, many small, biodiverse, family farms here.  I love to shop at the FM! We also get a CSA share from a farm about an hour from here. In the winter, we can only get meat, eggs and preserved foods, but it is still fun. The market I enjoy most has live music many Saturdays and fun festivals throughout the growing/harvest seasons. 

Plan for today? I've already done some errands and paperwork. Kids slept late and did some school work. Next up: lunch, RA then away for the afternoon and evening. Piano lessons and VBS prep at church. 

What book are you currently reading? Hannah Coulter by Wendell Berry (listening to the Close Reads podcast too), LOTR, Teaching What Really Happened by James Loewen, and Smart but Scattered. 

Have a great day!

• Like 1

We don't have large farmer's markets near us, but there are very small ones. 

Today includes a hair cut for ds, school, and church. The hair cut was late morning, so we got lunch out and stopped by the library.