Menu

Phonics Recommendation

jmjs4

:grouphug:   BTDT

1.  Are you saying they cannot yet read at all, or they are struggling in certain areas or...?  If your almost second grader isn't reading yet, I would be concerned that there is something else tripping them up besides just switching a program mid-year.  Why are you 100% certain they don't have dyslexia?

2.  That being said, I wouldn't panic over children that young being a bit behind in reading.  There is still plenty of time, even if it turned out they had a learning challenge with regards to learning to read.  

3.  With regards to the Sunday School class, is there a way you could talk to the teacher and ask for them to provide you with what will be read a week in advance?  You could pre-read with your children.  I was a Sunday School teacher and I have kids that struggled to learn to read so I have seen this from both sides.  Talk to the SS teacher.  See how you might be able to help the situation while you work on how to approach reading at home.

4.  Some kids are not easy to teach phonics to, so if you are looking for a fun way to teach phonics to children that don't rapidly pick up phonics you may not ever find anything.  I agree, start AAR1 at the lesson you left off on (but you may need to give a refresher) and commit to sticking it out.  They are old enough now that things may start to click more smoothly and you might be able to pick up the pace further down the road.

5.  Reading fluency and decoding skills are based on critical foundational skills.  Sometimes those skills get picked up intuitively by children and sometimes it takes some systematic instruction and sometimes it takes intense systematic instruction and practice.  Don't focus on the levels and thinking "behind" or "ahead" but think of this as critical foundational skills that your kids seem to need more targeted instruction and practice to internalize.  

• Like 1