Menu

s/o So if Rosetta Stone isn't worth the $$$, what IS good for 2nd language acquisition?

sweetpea3829

If I would like to teach DS8, French...what is out there?  I've heard of Duolingo, but have heard that it requires a lot of writing.  DS is a decent writer, but probably will not appreciate having to do excessive amounts of it at this age.  

Another concern I have with starting language acquisition this young is....he has yet to learn much formal grammar.  We have not done verb conjugations.  We haven't done much in the way of verb tenses, either.  

I remember when I studied French in middle school and again in college...knowing how to conjugate verbs was an important aspect of learning the language.  

Yet folks say kids learn a 2nd language more easily.

The best way to learn a language is immersion. A month or two in France speaking only French will give you more fluency than a few years of high school french. As for kids vs adults, young kids immersed in the language definitely learn pronunciation better than adults, but they don't necessarily learn syntax any better or more quickly. In a classroom or homeschool setting, younger isn't necessarily better. I'd keep pretty low expectations. But if he's motivated and you're motivated... Give it a try!

We opted for going with semi-private tutoring from a native speaker supplemented with a traditional textbook, DuoLingo, daily homework assigned by the tutor, and a variety of other books, videos and cultural resources that I find on my own. My son had several friends also interested in the studying the language, so the tutor was willing to split her hourly fee amongst all involved families in order to make it affordable. 

Since immersion or a tutor haven't been options for us, we've opted for Mango through our library, and DuoLingo. There's a little typing in DuoLingo, but it isn't too bad.