Menu

Online/DVD piano lessons?

My boys have been taking piano lessons for about six months.  While I want to continue, I don't want to continue the monthly expense, or the time from our day for the lessons.    I will if I HAVE too...but I'd prefer not.

Are there any reliable online or dvd based lessons that actually teach piano well?  I have some musical background, played clarinet for 7 years through school.   It's been years, but I have the jist of the music stuff, and have been following along with my son's lessons, so I'm up to speed on what they know now.  And the books we use offer instruction as well (Faber).  So between all of this, I think I could keep them moving along for beginners, and perhaps go back into lessons with a teacher in a year or so...when our budget isnt' quite as tight....if I had some help with at home lessons.

Any recommendations for online/dvd based piano lessons that are decent...not too adult-oriented, but not too babyish?

My boys have been taking piano lessons for about six months.  While I want to continue, I don't want to continue the monthly expense, or the time from our day for the lessons.   

I'm not exactly sure what you mean by not wanting the the time for lessons? Do you mean the daily practice or is getting to the weekly lesson a long distance? Whether one learns an instrument through in-person or video instruction, the bulk of the time during the week will be with the practicing. If you can't commit the time to that, then learning an instrument won't be possible.