Menu

good first quilt

EmilyGF

My daughter turns 8 this month. She likes doing crafts with me so I'm considering a quilt kit for her. Ideally, we'd work on it for an hour or two per week for a few months. She'll learn to use the sewing machine. I've been working on a quilt recently and she's been watching. She has been sewing a 9-patch by hand but probably won't finish it because of a major mistake she made that I didn't catch because she was working on it in the back of the car each time we drove. Sigh.

I'm a beginner quilter. I am confident with piecing and geometry, not so good at the quilting! She's got amazing spatial sense, so piecing should be easy for her. She taught herself to knit from a book a few months back, though I did help her when she got stuck.

What sort of kit should I put together for her? Do you have a good book for kids you suggest? She'll use some of my supplies (roller, etc).

Thanks, Emily

Look at "Crazy Log Cabin" designs. I did these with a group of novice quilters once and it was very fun. You essentially make small blocks (say 8-10 inch rectangles), but you start with a 3-4 inch rectangle in the center (we used animal prints for baby quilts, so we used a animal face/shape for the center), then add strips around each side in a spiral pattern, like a log cabin. BUT, you have your strips all precut in a range of widths and lengths, and you are "crazy" about attaching them in random fashion, so it gets wiggly and wild. When the square gets big enough, you use a rotary cutter and mat to cut it to a standard size. Then you piece your squares together, in my case, we used strips to join each square, so you had "frames" around the crazy patches. 

You need to rely on the rotary cutter/mat to keep things "square" and you use the machine to attach each strip. The nice thing is that it is not "persnickety" as most quilting is, so it is very forgiving to novice piecers. No tricky corners to line up!