Menu

math for kinder?

Katerine234

HI!

I am new to the world of homeschooling. My 4 year old is going to a preschool program at our church. He does not meet the cut-off date for starting kindergarten here which means he will have another year at home (turns 5 in october). I am very happy about this because I hate the idea of sending him to school anyways, but academically he is ready to start learning! We have been doing the 100 easy lessons book for reading, we have a bible time together. I was considering adding in Math and this is where I totally confused! There is so much out there! I was leaning towards Horizons Math K and then heard of Singapore. I have found that singapore EB seems really easy and Horizons math k is on the more advanced side? Also would like to incorporate manipulatives into the mix. I love workbook style because it gives me a clear focus of what we are getting done but would like to incorporate some manipulatives. I have heard good things about Miquon, would that be a good supplement to either horizons or singapore? and it says on the website that it is meant for a 1st grader, has anyone ever used it for a 4/5 year old? HELP! feeling very overwhelmed! I am hoping that this year goes well so that I can convince myself and husband that I can homeschool!

Well, I will be the first to chime in, and ask if you have considered Saxon K. We used it with my dd very successfully. It is quite gentle and easy to implement; uses manipulatives (but not like Right Start or Miquon, where there's a learning curve for you); incorporates things like money, time, calendar (like a circle time at a BM school); and has very little writing. It's only 3 days a week, or you can just go through it and then spend the rest of the year on a different program, such as Miquon. It's quite clear and direct to use, as it's scripted and everything you need is listed right there for you each day.

We loved it!