Menu

Feeling yucky about High School Biology...

Ds15 (9th) started Biology in August, but I feel like we're getting nowhere. We've tried a few different curricula this year that were in textbook format and ds was totally overwhelmed. He's not a reader as it is so all the words on the High School text was too much. So we've been working along with Time4Learning, supplementing some reading, and doing dissections with his younger sisters who are doing Marine Biology. I just don't have that feeling in my heart that you get when you KNOW you're doing enough. Of course my idea of enough may be skewed because I do a lot of comparing myself to other homeschoolers, but it just doesn't feel good for me. Ds career goals center somewhere around military technology or something in the Technology field.

So how can I give this boy a solid Biology course, without traumatizing him? I honestly get overwhelmed when I look through his texts and I have my Bachelors in Science! It all looks so boring and not necessary. I want a happy medium for us, but one that I can live with.

I hope someone else has had this experience and can offer some suggestions.

Thank you!!!

Here is a link to a non majors college level biology textbook that is manageable and pretty engaging. We used parts of this. http://dieterleclassroom.wikispaces.com/Exploring+the+Way+Life+Works There also used to be audio of this available somewhere online. I couldn't locate it right now. Or take a look at education-portal.com. They might have biology lectures your son could listen to to add to what you are doing. HTH a little.