Menu

Learning in spurts has me frustrated!

YES. Both of mine learn this way, and it can be great for when I need a lighter homeschooling schedule (I'm an undergrad, so finals and so on), but can be concerning when I feel like no progress has been made for months (Is it the curriculum? Are my expectations unreasonable? etc.), only to have them leapfrog over a level or two days later.

Looking at the age of your kids (oldest being 6), this is a completely normal experience and isn't limited to just accelerated/gifted kids.

I learned very early on that daily lesson plans for kids under 8-9 were pretty much a waste of time. Pacing is completely unpredictable b/c they do exactly what you describe. One day things are moving along quickly and then all of a sudden they slow down and seem to crawl or vice versa.

My experience has been that pacing is far more predictable by 3rd/4th grade and by 4th/5th I am pretty much able to know exactly how much work my kids should be able to complete in a given amt of time.

I, too, don't do daily planning for my 6 year old. I never know what he'll understand. He tends to know nothing about a subject, then suddenly something clicks and he knows more than I expect him to. He's always been like this. It even makes him appear "slow" sometimes, but then he jumps ahead. Or I'll expect him to need to take time to understand something, and he'll get it right away, leaving me scratching my head.

My 8 year old never really did this. He has always just kept going, going, going. I have never had to slow down for him to understand something. I think he's the weirdo though. :D