Menu

Article on the "Student Loan Racket"

Interesting article. I know around here not every student is pushed toward college, but the two main "problems" I see (besides a poor foundation to enter college) are:

1) Those two year for profit schools like Art and Culinary Institutes. They charge exorbitant amounts of money and there are VERY few high paying jobs to be had in those fields. It doesn't surprise me that 40% enter default.

2) The common belief that is taught in our schools that goes something to the effect of "everybody is equal" or "everybody wins." Students can put forth minimum effort and learn the minimum amount needed to pass and assume they get the same "rewards" as the "worker" who puts forth a lot of effort. In school they do. They pass. In college they may graduate (sometimes - but not always - from a lower level school at that), then they wonder why no one wants to employ them in a high paying job. After all, "my degree is just as good as the next person's." Um, maybe not in a competitive world. When there are 4 or 40 or 400 applicants for a job, "just" having the degree means nothing.

When it talks about a grad having 20K in debt and a $293 monthly payment, that's not at all a bad investment for many fields. ;) I know our life would have been far different had hubby not "invested" in becoming an Engineer. I'm grateful that he did. I went to school mostly debt free (had 2K in loans when I graduated). I don't regret that either.

My advice is to always know your student, know your major, know your likely job prospects, figure out the best college for the money (figuring in job prospects from that college), and decide what is best. There is no single right answer that works for all.

Edited by creekland

I may have to print this out for my kid who's taking a graphic design class. Quite the flow chart there.