Menu

I was wondering if anyone here has gone to one of the LDS Canneries? I am going tomorrow night with a friend to the one in Georgia. I am trying to get a feel for what to expect. I have never been. Any opinions on food quality? Likes or dislikes? Do you know if they take debit/credit cards or just cash? I would like to be prepared to make the most of it. I am just getting started on long term storage needs.

Thanks,

Tracy

I'm pretty sure they would only take cash or check. They probably don't have facilities to deal with cards.

It will be a Spartan little place, clean, with a very simple dry canning setup (unless you're going to a wet cannery; I've never been to one of those--am going in a month or two). You choose what foodstuff you want to can, pour it into the cans, and run the cans under the machine.

I have found the food quality to be quite good, even things like the fruit punch mix that I expected to hate. The dried refried beans, of course, are inferior to ordinary beans. I much prefer the potato pearls to the potato flakes, but they're harder to come by these days, I think (I never just make a plain batch, but they're great for bulking out your mashed potatoes or thickening soup, etc.). Rice, sugar, flour, etc. are all as good as you'd get at the store--note that canning and storing makes the sugar smell funny, but it makes no difference in cooking. The apples are yummy!

There's probably a bishop's storehouse attached to the cannery. Ask for a tour--they'll almost certainly be happy to give you one and it's interesting to know. And it takes about 5 minutes.

I only recently realized how lucky I am to have a cannery just a few minutes away. They're rarer than I thought!

I LOVE going to the canneries.

here's the advice that someone gave me that did help me...

Dress respectfully modest (no cleavage, tight clothing, miniskirts, etc...)-- not that we would anyway, LOL

Be ready to help.

bring cash or check. (ours says no cc, but yours might)