Menu

Bread storage - breadbox??

I'm a bread baker (but you knew that already ;)). Currently, I store bread very haphazardly - in foil for artisan breads, in big ziplocks for sandwich, etc. I do have a small little expandable acrylic breadbox that I bought at King Arthur flour, but it only holds one homemade 1 - 2 pound loaf.

But I've really been wondering about those old-fashioned metal breadboxes. My grandma had one. Does anyone have one? If so, would you comment as to how well they keep bread? We are currently in an extraordinarily dry climate. What about humid climates? Do you just put the inside "naked"? Do you wrap it up?

We got a bread box about 6 or 7 years ago. Ours is wood. I put the bread in a bread bag in addition to putting it in the box. I'm not really sure that the box makes that much difference, since I put it in plastic anyways, but it makes it so people always know where the bread is (or the muffins or whatever).

I only store one loaf in there at a time and keep the rest in the freezer. We currently live in a very soggy climate and I have also used the bread box in a very dry climate. I ought to try storing the bread without plastic, since it wouldn't dry out here, but I definitely wouldn't ever store bread unwrapped in bread box in a dry climate, unless it was going to be gone by the end of the day.

I am a bread baker too. I have a wooden bread box that I store bread in, but it is always in a plastic bag first.

I often have severals kind, ( whole grain and light whole wheat or cinnamon) open at the same time. For overflow I use Tupperware. They have some really nice long skinny pieces that work well.

I don't know about this tidbit, but I have heard that bread goes stale faster in the fridge than on the counter. Again, it might be an urban myth.

We have a wooden bread box on the counter, and a dry climate. We do use the breadbox, but also store bread in the freezer. We tend to either keep or wrap the bread in plastic though.