Menu

Let's talk cameras

I need a new digital. Niether my budget nor my skills is up there in the DSLR/SLR range.

I'd like a camera that is basically point and shoot, has nice image quality, and fast for motion shots.

I realize that I won't have great pictures of motion shots if it is not a SLR, but something better than what I have now.

So do you like the camera you have?

*Update* I'm looking at the Nikon D40 as it is basically the same price as the Canon SX10 and SonyH50

The best prices I've found so far is on Amazon. I would like a protection plan. Does anyone have experience with the protection plan you can buy through Amazon? Would I be able to buy the camera on Amazon and then buy a protection plan through Ritz Camera or another store?

Edited by Kleine Hexe
Update

I'm a photographer, so of course I have a DSLR. But I also have my point and shoot for when I dont want to "focus" on my settings but just whip it out and shoot. I have tried MANY MANY point and shoot cameras and just didnt like too many of them. I finally settled on the Sony H50. While it is not compact, I'm happy with the image quality. Not up to my DSLR standards, but I'm satisified. And the zoom is great at 15x optical (ignore the digital zoom, it doesnt matter, you want to look at optical). And it feels very solid and easy to hold.

My method:

Go to Costco.

Look at their cameras.

Buy the second or third most expensive one (out of 6 or so).

Costco buys large quantities and has generous return policies. So they pick something that is desirable to most people and give you a good deal on it.

I have used my method twice, and it has worked both times. And if I didn't like it, I could take it back (within a certain amount of time--check for details.)