Menu

Where does Derek Owens Math fall on the "rigor scale"?

I will rank the programs I have some knowledge of, going from least rigorous to most rigorous:

MUS, TT, Lial, Holt/Berger, Derek Owens, Foerster, AoPS 

So on the more rigorous side of middle.  

ETA: Here is the ranking after some discussion:

Less rigorous:  MUS, TT

Average rigor:  Lial, Holt

More rigorous:  Jacobs, DO, Foerster

Most rigorous:  AoPS

Edited by EKS
  • Like 2

25 minutes ago, square_25 said:

So, this is from the perspective of someone who’s seen nothing but samples, but why is TT more rigorous than MUS?

Doing these sorts of rankings is difficult.  I probably should have done it like this:

Lower rigor:  MUS, TT

Medium rigor:  Lial, Holt

Higher rigor:  DO, Foerster, AoPS

5 minutes ago, square_25 said:

You know, I don't know enough about the other choices to say! But I do think discovery-based learning is a different kind of beast. 

But the OP was just asking about rigor.  Do you agree that of the three categories, AoPS should be in the more rigorous one?   Maybe I need a fourth category--"most rigorous"?

Note that I don't particularly like the term rigorous.

Edited by EKS
  • Like 1

2 minutes ago, square_25 said:

Oof. Yeah, I'd have to look at more samples. I would actually be much more interested in what you think as a comparison -- does it feel like the same level or not? 

No--AoPS is far superior to DO and Foerster.  

2 minutes ago, square_25 said:

Then perhaps it does need its own category! 

From my experience, it feels a bit below the textbooks I used in college when doing my math degree (which were also proof-focused in a way high school textbooks never are -- although those weren't usually discovery method.)

Ok--here is the new ranking:

Less rigorous:  MUS, TT

Average rigor:  Lial, Holt

More rigorous:  DO, Foerster

Most rigorous:  AoPS

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, kand said: