Menu

Handwriting/copy work for dyslexic student

My 4th grade son was diagnosed with dyslexia last fall.  We are soon to start on the 3rd level of Barton.  He really balks at any type of writing and completely quits if it is more than 3 words.  He handwriting is good and he doesn't have any letter reversals. I feel like he just needs to up his stamina. Do you have any suggestions for copy work for someone with dyslexia?

I am an Orton-Gillingham trained tutor (although admittedly behind on the latest research), and I never require my students to complete copy work. Since writing is such a chore for them, I only require that they write the words and sentences that I dictate to them.

I require my students to type papers once they are ready to write them.

• Like 1

He's probably balking because it's mentally challenging, even if his handwriting is fine. Does he have to write sentences during your Barton lessons? In my Wilson lessons, I have kids write 1-2 sentences. For my 4th graders, 2 sentences is enough to wipe them out. Maybe I'm being a softy, but after they've written their words and sentences for the lesson, I scribe for any more writing.

My students do better when I set them a certain limit, like 1 or 2 sentences per session. They eventually get used to that workload and don't protest. Theoretically, you could get to a place where he's doing fine and working without an issue, and then veeeerrrry gradually increase the writing.

• Like 1

http://handwriting-solutions.com/dysgraphia.asp

Consider this website about dysgraphia.  Even someone with neat handwriting can have dysgraphia.  

Apart from that, here are some things to think about.