Menu

What to do after All About Reading, Level 1

Phryne

My six year old and I are about 2/3 of the way through All About Reading, Level 1.  We like it, but I am starting to think about whether we will buy Level 2.  It feels like a really slow program, even though we skip the word reviews presented in list form.  (We just do the cards, the magnets, the stories, and, usually, the workbook activities.)  I know that All About Reading is divided into four levels (not including the pre-reading level, which we did not do because we were past that stage when I found AAR), and it just seems like a long time to spend learning how to read.  (Our friends are all more unschoolish than we are, and more than half of them have kids who self taught at a young age.  It's okay that my daughter didn't, but are those the choices:  self teach overnight at age four, or spend all of ages 6-9 learning?  I thought that, by age seven or eight, we would be working on other aspects of Language Arts, rather than approaching a halfway point in the process of learning simply how to read.  I am now wondering if AAR just wants more of my money.)

It's possible that I'm making a problem where none exists, since AAR is basically working for us, and my daughter is happy, but is it really supposed to take four years (possibly condensed into three if we move quickly) to learn how to read?  If not, can you recommend something that is a bit brisker?

Your reasons are why I decided against AAR.  It looks like a lovely program, but it's expensive and quite long.  It would be worth it if a shorter program didn't work.  We used Teach Your Child To Read In 100 Easy Lessons.  It's not for everyone, but there are several single book programs out there:
The Ordinary Parent's Guide To Teaching Reading
Phonics Pathways
Synthetic Phonics (Parker Phonics)
The Writing Road To Reading

And there are middle of the road programs, too, like Explode the Code.  But all of them are more flexible than AAR.