Menu

resume help - constructive criticism only

EmilyGF

Hi all,

Before I start, please don't tell me what I "should" have done in the past. Only help going forward, please.

I've been trolling a certain job site for about two years because I have a very specific set of criteria for jobs that I will apply to. My hubby wants me only to work jobs that actually will leave me feeling that I've done something useful and I don't want to work more than 15 hours/week. I also just made a significant curricular change that should free up some of my time. Well, right after making that change, a job came up on the site that hit every single one of our criteria. So now I'm working on my resume.

How on earth do I do that??? I haven't worked a steadily paid job since 2007 (secretary), and that was only 10 hours/week and from home. Before kids, I was an engineer. I have an engineering degree. In junior high and high school, I worked for a bookkeeper for 6 years, which means I have mad Excel skills (still, since I use Excel in real life). I worked at a theater part time in college, sometimes as manager. Though that would be my dream job, I haven't found a nearby theater to manage and I don't want to commute!

The job involves managing a lab so I think the Excel skills kick in, but that paid part of life was so long ago.

How do I even go about writing a resume? I guess I should have started this when I began trolling the job website, but I didn't, so that advice won't help!

thanks,

Emily

• Like 1

Maybe elaborate on the manager aspect of your last job with bullet points. If you have any volunteer/unpaid experience relevant perhaps that could come into play as well (coordinating field trips/events?). I don't know if that would necessarily have a place on the resumé, but maybe you could work it into a cover letter.