Menu

Science for first grade?

Peculiarmama

I need help deciding what to do for science for first grade. I was looking at Building Blocks of Science and Biology Pre Level 1 both from Real Science 4 Kids, but now looking at reviews I'm thinking they may be too advanced? Can someone help me out here? Also, this is my first time posting here, so let me know if I've done something wrong. :)

We are doing Nancy Larson science - grade 2. 

It's very WTMish I think - http://www.nancylarsonstore.com/Science-3-Complete-Program_p_12.html

I love that it's open and go.  Scripted which may or may not appeal but my student LOVES science.  It's me that doesn't :(  So this works for us, she's definitely challenged and learning so much and I don't have to jump through hoops to get it done.

We flipped Earth Science and Biology. So my son is doing "1st grade" science this year. We are doing Elemental Classics Biology science. We love this program. It is well written, easy to understand, easy to implement. In first grade, your child may need help with the writing, but dictating for a child is easy and your child would have the critical thinking, without the laborious writing. We have our child do the writing because he is older. 

Good luck with your decision!

Edited by 3 ladybugs

My last first grader used the Getting to Know Nature's Children book series for the first half of the school year, and mostly did Magic School Bus books and episodes with free internet lapbook-ish stuff for the rest of the year.

My youngest will do a second year of K this fall, so K/1st level really. We'll either read Getting to Know Nature's Children together, or perhaps he'll tag-a-long with 3rd grade sister's Sassafras Science and do the coloring pages.